Meet MAAR's Supported Candidates

August 4th Election

 Association News, Governmental Affairs

Published Monday, July 11, 2022

Three Voting Booths with American Flag in Background

As part of our ongoing commitment to advocating for private property rights and homeownership, the MAAR Governmental Affairs Committee spent several weeks interviewing multiple candidates running for elected office within Shelby County.

After careful consideration, their recommendations were sent to the MAAR Board of Directors and approved. Below is the list of candidates in the upcoming elections on August 4th that MAAR feels will serve in the best interests of the real estate industry and the community at large.

If you have questions about this process, please contact Governmental Affairs & Industry Relations Director Ken Scroggs.

MAAR's Supported Candidates
Shelby County General Election


Shelby County Mayor

Headshot of Lee Harris
Lee Harris

Headshot of Worth Morgan
Worth Morgan

Shelby County Commission (District 3)

Headshot of Mick Wright
Mick Wright

Shelby County Commission (District 4)

Headshot of Brandon Morrison
Brandon Morrison

Shelby County Commission (District 5)

Headshot of Shante Avant
Shante Avant

Shelby County Commission (District 13)

Headshot of Michael Whaley
Michael Whaley

Shelby County District Attorney General

Headshot of Amy Weirich
Amy Weirich

Shelby County Trustee

Headshot of Regina Newman
Regina Newman

Shelby County Assessor of Property

Headshot of Melvin Burgess
Melvin Burgess

Shelby County Environmental Court Judge

Headshot of Danny Kail
Danny Kail

Voter Information Quick Links

Early voting begins on Friday, July 15; it ends on Saturday, July 30. The last day to request an absentee ballot is Thursday, July 28. Election Day is Thursday, August 4. You may vote at any location during the early voting period, however, you must vote at your regular polling place on Election Day.

Compiled below are several links to help members stay informed about the upcoming election. Click on the relevant section(s) to find information based on voter location.

State Resources

Shelby County Resources

Fayette County Resources

Tipton County Resources

If you have questions pertaining to the election, please contact your local election commission.